The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage 2021( EYFS ) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.

All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS , and at The Opportunity Centre it is at the heart of everything we do.  With this guidance we move towards the next steps of development for our children, allowing them to develop at their own pace and from their own interests.


The EYFS contains 7 areas of learning:


Personal, Social and Emotional

Communication and Language

Physical Development



Understanding the World

Expressive arts and Design


The activities and play your children take part in are all designed with these areas of learning in mind.  However that doesn’t mean that we stick to a ridged routine, we believe too much forward planning can stifle a child’s learning, imagination and creativity.  Our practitioners are always on hand to take the activity or play in whatever direction interests your child, capturing their imaginations and appetite for learning at just the right moment.


Young children have a natural desire to explore and question the world around them.  In just one week their will be hundreds of interactions with a 1000 possibilities for learning.  We pride ourselves on the positive relationships we build with your child because, knowing your child well is what gives us a head start in delivering “teachable moments”.



“It is a happy talent to know how to play”